Dakota Durango Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
from most of the reading here everone likes 456 rear gear. Im new to fuel injection hot rodding but on carbed motors a low gear makes up for weak motor, just wondering what everones thoughts is on this?:huh:

·
.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.
10,424 Posts
Factory gearing (3.55) put my truck right about 1500 at 60mph. Entirely too low...especially if you want to tow anything.

I run 4.56 now and I turn a tick over 2000 at 60. That's not bad...at all. My wife's VW Jetta turns more RPM bone stock.

Back in the days of carbs, you were lucky to have overdrive. Most were straight 1:1 in top gear. Couple that with small car tires and you turned about the same RPM we are now using much taller rear gear.

·
Don't be "That Guy"
7,400 Posts
from most of the reading here everone likes 456 rear gear. Im new to fuel injection hot rodding but on carbed motors a low gear makes up for weak motor, just wondering what everones thoughts is on this?:huh:

even in carb'd hot rods, low gear does not "make up" for "weak motor" your parts have to match each other. high rpm HP race type cam? it's not going to have any "off idle grunt" so you need a loose torque converter and high numerical gears to make it all work...but that's ok, because you'll be turning your motor to 7,000 rpm anyway.

vs a torque cam that has lots of off idle torque and grunt, but is all used up by 5,000 rpm. in such case, you want a tighter torque converter and lower numerical gears.

it's not a matter of "weak engine vs strong engine"

and the 4.7s are rev happy motors. the factory shift point is 5500 rpm at WOT. the older 5.2s and 5.9s were around 4800 with the rev limiter at 5200rpm.