Dakota Durango Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone have any experience with it, have yet to hear any negatives. Other than the fact that it requires a slightly different technique. Heard they have been using it in Europe for years. Was thinking of doing some work with it. Anyone have any input?

·
Registered
76 Posts
I have a lot of experience with it, I'm a tech rep for PPG that's the only basecoat we are pushing right now! There are different techniques to spraying it, but paint is paint, my customers have responded well to it, they actually perfer it over the solvant based basecoats! I've had a lot of fun with it!

·
Registered
1,326 Posts
I just saw that last Thursday on Street Customs show. They had PPG come in and change out all their paint from solvent based to waterbourne. West Coast Customs used it on a Maybach. They sprayed black but it looked to have blue and green tints to it when it was wet. They showed it when it dried and it was a very nice wet looking black that had a very nice shine to it and finish to it.

·
Currently embracing Fords
6,525 Posts
What's the cost difference between waterbourne vs solvent? I know waterbourne is better for the environment, but I was quoted about $2500-3000 to paint my ram w/ solvent based.

·
Registered
76 Posts
The "water" doesn't look anything like the color that its supposed to be, until the water/reducer evaporates out of the color, you can't tell the color until it "flashes".its definately an interesting product, I have been useing it for about a year and a half now, when a solvent based show calls because of a problem that they are having I cringe because I'm used to using the "water" and I actually hate going back in time so to speak with the solvent!

·
14 cylinders
2,101 Posts
What do you mean by "color changing"