Dakota Durango Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just a quick question, On a 2000 durango 4x4 with no mods, what is the max amount of water one can safely go through? Im new to the truck scene (had a hyundai accent before this) so I wanna get into off roading. Recently we had a huge rainfall and the roads flooded. Well, like a dumbass I went driving through it (about 1-2ft) acouple times. Today, i realized that may have not been a good idea without knowing about it. I saw that breather tube on someones post coming from the diff. is that something i should do? Im already planning on changing the diff fluids, tranny fluid and adjusting the "transmission bands" since i dont know the last time it had this done. Is there anything else i should add to my list that will help with my off roading adventures? Im slowly building my list of mods to do based on this boards suggestions, but lack of funds means i have to do the important stuff. sorry for this turning into sorta a long post.

·
Banned
6,056 Posts
Of course depending on how deep of water you're crossing, you'll need to make the proper precautions for it. My stock rear diff breather was just over 2ft from the ground, which isn't very high. It sits right in the middle of the frame rail. I relocated mine to just about 4ft from the ground. You can see the thread here:

http://www.dakota-durango.com/forum/showthread.php?t=10148

You really don't need to, unless you're going in water about this deep:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v126/YellowKota2k/Silver Lake 7-16-05/DSC04239.jpg

From what I just measured, you could go through water about 2ft deep without any problems. This is to the top of my rim. This is also assuming the lowest breather is also the rear diff, and it's in about the same spot. The tranny, transfercase, and front differential should be much higher and you'll be fine with those, as long as you don't get to the top of the tire.