Dakota Durango Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
188 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The clear coat around the top of the tail gate and bed rails, is peeling off. I'm going to get the whole truck painted and the shop I took it to said the most expensive thing would be the prep. I was wondering if anybody has had any experience with sanding and primer or any advice of what I could do to get the truck in a condition easier to paint and to save some money!
Thanks
Kevin

·
Registered
243 Posts
Paint

I have a friend in the paint supplies industry, I will give him a call tomorrow. You could also try sending "downlowrango" a PM, you can find his info in the photo forums, he is a painter by trade. I'll post whatever I find out. Later.

A

·
0 Posts
body prep

if were you, i would just do the bed it self, if nothing else is peeling. As for prep just get a sander and some 400 grit sand paper,dont sand the paint off; just cut the top layer. just to give some thing for the new paint to stick to, you do not need any primer unless you go down to bare metal. Anthing you dont want sanded, take it off or mask it off . you dont have to sand the paint off, because the old paint will act as a primer. But i would check with the shop your going to they may want all the paint off.

·
Registered
188 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
i think i want to paint the whole truck or do two tone or something. How much should a descent paint job cost and do you know of a good paint shops?

Thanks!

D

·
0 Posts
A decent paint job is going to cost over $2000, a show quality job can cost $5000 or more. When I painted my 68 Barracuda it cost about $800 for the paint, clear coat, primer, reducers and activators. This was for top shelf Dupont Chroma materials and you could save a couple of hundred with the lower grade paints from Dupont or PPG.

A

·
0 Posts