Dakota Durango Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, its been a while since I posted, back when I was working on the Hemi install in my Dakota. This time I'm having issues with the 5.9 in our newly
  • purchased '00 Durango. To try and keep this as short as possible, I'm going to list all of the things I've checked and done, in no particular order. And to keep the replies simpler, let me mention that I'm a mechanic at a small shop, with schooling and a fair amount of experience. I know the basics to check, and have checked all of the grounds, replaced the TPS, etc. Here is the full list:
  • Engine is a replacement used engine, I bought the Durango with a bad engine. The engine itself runs great, except for the occasional issues directly related to the TPS.
  • The issue started as soon as the engine was first started.
  • Replaced TPS with brand new one.
  • Checked all grounds in the engine compartment with the help of the FSM to make sure I didn't miss any. I removed them and cleaned them with sandpaper, and used a meter to test them all.
  • Checked all ground splices in the engine harness to make sure there were no wires pulled out.
  • Took readings at the TPS, and the ground is good from the sensor to the PCM, the feed wire has aprox. 5.2 volts, but the signal wire also has 5.2 volts, even when unplugged from the TPS.
  • Removed the TPS feed wire from the PCM plug, and checked the PCM, and its putting OUT 5.2 volts, where it should be RECEIVING low voltage from the TPS. This is with the wire removed from the PCM, so its not a short in the TPS wire.
  • Replaced the PCM after lots of testing, and it fixed the problem...for about 15 minutes.