Dakota Durango Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thought I'd post my experiences with the rebuild of our 2005 Durango Limited AWD I bought, not running (first mistake). Long story short, 189k on the clock and it sheared the cam pin. That led to a complete rebuild of the drivetrain. Full hemi rebuild, trans rebuild, transfer case, all ball joints, suspension, shocks, u-joints, all seals, all new brakes-rotors, pads, caliper rebuilds. I did all this myself in spare time, my day job is in I.T., but cars are my hobby, was a professional wrench long time ago.

Anyway, the purpose here is to share some of the transfer case check and repair. I pulled the transfer case apart to check it and replace all the seals. Being that I regularly rebuild Tremec manual transmissions, this wasn't much different, but finding parts, manual and procedures is near impossible for this NV244D. I found a good parts source in A & Reds transmission parts https://www.areds.com/transfer-case/ No affiliation, just a happy customer.

After replacing all the seals and reassembling it, all appeared fine and the first drive went well. At a stop light I got on it a bit and then the trouble started, this banging noise and the driveline was slightly jumping on acceleration. Got it home, checked all bolts, every thing is tight. Put in in 4Hi and 4Lo, no difference.

Well, pulled the transfer case back out of the Durango and pulled it apart. It seemed 1 chain is slightly longer than the other one now, whereas they were the same length. All the gear faces looked good, all the bearings are good, pump working fine. Finally found the Borg Warner part # HV-084 for the 2 chain set in this unit. It's apparently a bad experiment called the Genesis-II transfer case, the idea being the harmonics of 2 chains is quieter than 1 chain.