Dakota Durango Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So I sold my last rig and bought a 98 rango and although at one time I purchased an '01 dakota crew cab off the showroom floor, I would say I am a noob to the IFS wheeling world.

I have driven and built several very nice rigs for myself and others in the past 15 years. here are a few of my own rigs: http://s261.photobucket.com/albums/ii46/TWINSUMMITS/PAST RIGS/

I have owned my rango for about a week. I had money left over from the sale of my '98 xj and I live on and commute over some of the most dangerous roads in Colorado so I am not waiting to make this rig more capable.

The parts started arriving yesterday so this weekend i will start the first part of the durango's build up. Wish me luck.
I normally do everything from the rocker skids to the suspension and gears myself so I am not used to bolt on projects, but seeing as this rig will not see tremendously hard core wheeling for a few years I am keeping the IFS for now. The rig will see duty as a weekend wheeler and back country explorer to get the family into remote fishing spots and of course run the likes of chinaman's gulch, spring creek, etc. The days of hardcore will be done for a while as this rig is meant to be a DD and keep the miles off my '05 ram dually, and I may stand corrected, but I don't believe the ifs would keep up with my last few rigs. Some of you may argue, but I have not wheeled her yet to know for myself.

parts ordered to be installed this first round of building:

tuff country 5.5" lift
4.56 gears from national drivetrain
powertrax lock right for rear traction
315x57x16 procomp all terrains (35-12.50-16), settled for ride quality and I got a hell of a deal.
new front door from a clunker trade in, chili pepper red to match ( mine had been broken into at one time. Can't really tell from 20 feet, but I want her to look decent also)
sending Dwight my throttle body