Dakota Durango Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm going to be in the process of changing my 4.7 from my 01 Dakota 2 wheel drive automatic. To my Dakota four-wheel drive automatic.so here is my situation. I had an 04 Durango that I was driving .it had some engine issues.and I purchased in 01 Dakota. for a donor vehicle. complete vehicle. runs and drives. the transmission wentout in my Durango. so I figured it's a good time to do the engine swap also. so I told the Dakota apart and I was going to part it out. but before I could install the motor and tranny. it got totaled so now I'm down no trucks I could put the engine back in the Dakota. But I found I know for Dakota with no motor four-wheel drive everything else they're good shape. So what I'm up against when is going to be the best it looks feasible and cheapest way to insert the motor for my 01 Dakota into my 04. I've been a mechanic for all my life ASE certified all that good stuff. I have never really had to to put together years that were different.will not in the computer aged anyway I did a lot like in older Chevrolet is that kind of stuff,I do consider myself knowledgeable and very Hands-On. I don't do Transmissions. I like to specialize in driveability. so I can pretty much handle it and anything that I need to do. I'm just trying to make this easy on myself. and end up with the best of all worlds any help or info on this situation would be much appreciated and thank you and I appreciate you accepting me into the Durango Dakota group .

·
Registered
70 Posts
Swapping a 4.7 from a 2001 truck into a 2004 truck will require the cam tone ring and crank tone rings to be swapped. I believe the 04 has a better intake manifold. That’s about all I know in that regard though.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·