Dakota Durango Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Help I think I made a mistake with my head gasket repair.
I took the heads off and had them resurfaced but in doing so I think I moved something o wasnt supposed to because my number one piston doesnt look to be at the very top of the cylinder. Now can I just turn the crank till it's at the top while the head are off or is there some other way I have to do it? I know it will damage the valves if I do it the wrong way. I am also replacing the timing components since I'm already tore down so far because it doesnt look like it has ever been done and the truck has over 200.000 on it.
This is my first time ever doing a major repair like this myself and any and all help would be appreciated

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank you gentlemen, if I have any other questions I'll let you know.
Help I think I made a mistake with my head gasket repair.
I took the heads off and had them resurfaced but in doing so I think I moved something o wasnt supposed to because my number one piston doesnt look to be at the very top of the cylinder. Now can I just turn the crank till it's at the top while the head are off or is there some other way I have to do it? I know it will damage the valves if I do it the wrong way. I am also replacing the timing components since I'm already tore down so far because it doesnt look like it has ever been done and the truck has over 200.000 on it.
This is my first time ever doing a major repair like this myself and any and all help would be appreciated

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·