Dakota Durango Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 99 Dakota R/T. The other day I noticed a tick tick tick tick upon start up and my oil pressure gauge dropped to zero along with a gauge light saying “check gauge”. Checked the oil, it wasn’t even showing on the dipstick however there were no puddles and she definitely does not smoke. I drove her to the auto parts store (probably shouldn’t have) for some oil. While driving I got the same dip in oil pressure and now a check engine light. Put some oil in it (conventional 10w30). Fast forward to today 6 days later, I cleared the check engine light by pulling the battery and I’ve now added 7 qts of oil, no more gauge light or check engine lights but the oil keeps disappearing. Again no smoke, no leaks…. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated as this is a truck I purchased recently and I’m new to American V8s.

·
Home School Valedictorian
4,251 Posts
Remove the air hat from the top of the throttle body, open the butterfly and, with a flashlight look into the bottom of the intake manifold, likely saturated with oil. If so, the coverplate gasket on the bottom of the intake needs replaced.

Reactions: immattj

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Remove the air hat from the top of the throttle body, open the butterfly and, with a flashlight look into the bottom of the intake manifold, likely saturated with oil. If so, the coverplate gasket on the bottom of the intake needs replaced.
Gotcha, i gotta get a socket big enough to pull the bolt off on the top of the air hat. I’ll do that tmrw. Thanks man, been wracking my head over this for days now 👍🏼

·
4,251 Posts
Gotcha, i gotta get a socket big enough to pull the bolt off on the top of the air hat. I’ll do that tmrw. Thanks man, been wracking my head over this for days now 👍🏼
Should be finger tight but, you never know.

·
4,251 Posts