Dakota Durango Forum banner

Long term project, 99 Durango, NV4500, Atlas II, Dana 60s SAS

5K views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  fastdurango00 
#1 ·
Hi,

I'm new to Dodges and Durango, my experience has been with foxbody Mustangs and Jeeps (XJ, MJ, CJ, JK).

Current parts I have acquired:
8 lug Ford kingpin Dana 60 HP currently set up for a 3-link and coilovers with 64.5" WMS, No gears or locker yet.
8 lug full floating Dana 60, no brakes, gears, or lockers yet.
NV4500 with 4.7 bellhousing from 2005 Ram 2500, 29 spline
Atlas II 4.3 driver side drop from a Jeep with 23 Spline
1999 5.9 Dodge Durango with bad 46re transmission for $750, It will arrive this week.

Parts that I will still need to get:
H1 37" tires and wheels
I'm hoping to set the front up with ORI STX struts
5.9 flywheel and clutch
97-99 Dakota pedal assembly
97-99 Dakota steering column
97-99 Dakota instrument cluster
PCM- TBD 5.9 Ram 5spd PCM or 5.2 Dakota 5spd PCM
23 spline main shaft for NV4500 or 29 spline input shaft for Atlas
4.88 gears front and rear lockers.
rear leaf springs and shock to maintain stability and allow vehicle to tow JK

Rob

See less See more
#2 ·
so stage 1 will be getting the NV4500, Atlas transfer case, and rear driveshaft installed so I can drive the truck while I prep the axles and gather the other parts.

There is a 1997 Dakota 3.9 5spd 2wd in the local junk yard. I'm planning to get these parts:

1. trans crossmember
2. pedal assembly
3. clutch fork and hydraulic assembly
4. Flywheel bolts, clutch bolts
5. steering column
6. under dash wiring, neutral safety switch
7. Instrument cluster without PRNDL, swap in Durango V8 tach
8. Crankshaft position sensor

New Parts

9. AMS Automotive 167419 Flywheel or Zoom Flywheel 50-2754
10. New Clutch kit 11", 11 7/8", 12"
11 PCM?????????? Reprogram Durango, 1999 Ram 5.9 5spd, or 1999 Dakota 5.2 5spd

Am I forgetting anything?

#4 ·
Dude awesome start!