Dakota Durango Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello i am new here but i am a long time reader. I am getting ready to install a kenne bell setup on my 5.2 dakota and I am trying to figure out if I should put different head gaskets on. I am going to have the intake off to install hughes plenum kit and I have read that alot of ppl recomend the felpro head gaskets. My truck has 80k miles on it. I plan on running 6-8#'s of boost. Also any other advice for my install would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

·
Back in black
18,381 Posts
Id probably change the headgaskets if I were you.

Get a wideband and a good tune on that thing too. I've also read countless times that the optimizer that comes with the kit is garbage. I have no experience with Kenne Bell though, Im sure others that do will chime in and be a little more helpful.

·
Registered
357 Posts
Yeah if you got the Optimizer put it in the garbage :D:jester:
My truck was running rich as helllll with it.....
Even had black smoke...
Then like a month later, it wouldn't start, got a CEL... The optimizer losted the crank signal....

So, Ditch the aux injectors, get bigger injectors all around, and get a good custom tune with a wideband reading and you'll be good!

Those kenne-bell give some good torque below 3000rpm, but over 4000rpm, it dosen't pull that hard....

And, I never had issue with my stock headgasket with it at 6# of boost...

And if you do install the optimizer, don't forget to connect the knock sensor with it and all the ground!, i've tried my supercharger without the knock sensor, and as soon as you go in boost, it pull 15* of timing or something around that from what i can remember....Had my face in the dash everytime and i was wondering what was going on lol

Have fun with it!, the whine that it make is so nice :mullet:

·
Registered
1,831 Posts
Yeah if you got the Optimizer put it in the garbage :D:jester:
My truck was running rich as helllll with it.....