Dakota Durango Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the Mopar scence so I'll try and make it brief. Are 95 Dakota's notorious for giving improper gas gauge readings? I've got a 95 with a 319 V6, 2 wheel drive and I'm certain it's a 15 gal tank. Anyways, I started with a full tank and around 250 miles I noticed I was getting low on fuel and tried to push it until I got the "amber low fuel light" and then pulled over and topped off the tank. I was only able to put in just over NINE gallons. Started the truck back up again and the gauge went back to full. Sorry for the long explanation but are the fuel tank sending units known for going bad? The truck has just over 133,000 miles, is this a common problem. Your help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
3,607 Posts
Maybe you have an enormous reserve tank! LOL. I am sure someone will chime in with an actual answer.

·
Registered
2,201 Posts
welcome to the boards. well if you went 250 miles on a 15 gallon tank that = 16.6 miles to the gallon. That's not bad. Maybe the gas pump was broke?

·
Registered
3,607 Posts
I kind of have a similar issue. I have a 25 gallon tank. When my reqsout says that I have like 8 miles to empty and I fill up and top it off, I can only out in 21 gallons at the most. Is the remaining 4 gallons reserve? I do not feel like running out of gas to find out. I someone knows cool! If not no big deal!

·
It's not my fault!
555 Posts
Mine is the same way. I have the 22 gal tank, most I have ever put in it was 18 gal, and that was with my low fuel light on and the needle resting on empty. Been that way since day one.

·
Registered
3,607 Posts