Dakota Durango Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:help: Already I'm trying to get started on a summer project. I want to make a custom fiberglass enclosure for four 12"s and two amps. I was just hoping that maybe some of you guys can help me start. I have never used fiberglass before but I have been reading about it and I think I have an idea but I would like some more info. :help:

S

·
0 Posts
Fiberglass help

Hey,

I have been using fiberglass for a while now and I have learned one important thing, and that is you dont always need to use firberglass. I have a few videos that talk about using fleece or some other polyester cloths to start. You need to make a base first. If you are doing this in the rear of the truck under the seats in the back, I would recommend you use firberglass. Here is what I do to make a base. I use 3m masking tape. Make sure not to use the blue version only the tan colored one. Cover the area completely with tape that you want to fiberglass. Then cut some pieces of fiberglass to completely cover the area. Then when you apply the resign, do not paint it on you will waste resign and make a mess. Take a big chip brush and cut a cm or 2 off of the bristles. Next to apply the resign you need to do dabbing motions using streight up and down motions to push the resign into the glass matt. Use a mat that is pretty moveable because there are a lot of corners to deal with in the bottom areas. Keep doing that until the whole area is coverd. Get back to me if you need more help getting started I will try to help as much as possible. Its kinda hard typing all this. If I cant help you ill point you out to some good dvd's that will help you learn how to fiberglass.

Josh

·
Registered
872 Posts