Dakota Durango Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
599 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I have the engine top end coming apart in the 2002 durango 4.7 4x4 nicely.
I FINALLY got into this. The truck has sat for too long.
This is my first time in this 4.7 animal. There is a LOT of stuff to take off just to get to the iron. This might turn into a bit of a progress report as much for my own benefit as anyone else's.

I need some advice. The main reason I am in the engine at all is because I had a compression leak to coolant. BUT it would be a shame not to consider some upgrades while I have it apart. I want some help to decide where is money well spent.

This will be a daily driver, it will do some coast to coast trips in the next few years. Fuel economy is important but some more power and better breathing would be nice. It will never see a drag strip but it will do occasional towing. It has the facrory towing package. It is the older JTEC 3 plug computer if that helps at all.

It is bone stock today. Here is what I am interested in:
1. 206 cams. Are they actually available anywhere?
2. Port and polish the heads while they are out?
3. Throttle body..... but what size 68mm, 70mm?
4. Headers ?? there seem to be mixed reviews?
5. Injectors??
Please help me prioritize these and recommend things I do not know about.

PROGRESS REPORT

FRIDAY
Front bumper off.
Trans cooler off.
Radiator Out.
Accessories (Alternator, Fan clutch, electric fan, Water pump)
Idler off

Parts everywhere...

SATURDAY
Unbolted power steering pump and lay it on front crossmember.
Unbolted AC compressor and hung it from hood.
Oil filler neck off.
Throttle body off.
Air intake off.
Fuel rail/injectors off.
Tied back the wiring harnesses out of the way
Valve covers off.
Timing cover off.

SUNDAY
Exhaust manifolds off the heads. (they are pretty much welded to the Y pipe though:cussing: I need to break that free somehow, any ideas. They are soaking in PB tonight)