Dakota Durango Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I swapped my open differential for a TracLoc last week and everything went well considering I've never done one before. I have a bit of whine when coasting so I'm looking for a little experienced guidance.

The manual is a bit confusing when explaining the adjusters. It says to tighten the left side to 75ft/lbs then tighten the right to get the right amount of play. I tightened the left then the right to 75 ft/lbs and everything was locked up. I undid that and went back and forth tightening either side while still having the right amount of play. Then I torqued it to 75 ft/lbs on both sides. I didn't change the pinion and used the same ring gear. I tried the pattern test with some grease but it was hard to tell if I had it right. Did I do something incorrectly? Will it hurt anything?

Thanks

·
Registered
65 Posts
I swapped my open differential for a TracLoc last week and everything went well considering I've never done one before. I have a bit of whine when coasting so I'm looking for a little experienced guidance.

The manual is a bit confusing when explaining the adjusters. It says to tighten the left side to 75ft/lbs then tighten the right to get the right amount of play. I tightened the left then the right to 75 ft/lbs and everything was locked up. I undid that and went back and forth tightening either side while still having the right amount of play. Then I torqued it to 75 ft/lbs on both sides. I didn't change the pinion and used the same ring gear. I tried the pattern test with some grease but it was hard to tell if I had it right. Did I do something incorrectly? Will it hurt anything?

Thanks