Dakota Durango Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
145 DB Club
580 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I keep exploding rear U-joints right at the yoke.....I have really bad wheel hop, and under hard acceleration the rear end squats more than I'm comfortable with.....I'm a welder/metal fabricator by trade so building a traction/ladder bar is no issue I already have an idea for the design and it wont be very pretty but will be very tough.....was kind of thinking of going with a square tubing, rather than round will be easier to build and just as tough if not better in my opinion.......I already plan on adding leaf helpers for hauling and to eliminate wheel hop somewhat, BUT I also don't wanna have them torqued up all the time and kill the ride of my truck.....I guess my main questions are will a ladder/traction bar do anything, where about should it be mounted on the frame, what are the basic rules of thumb for where to mount and that kind of stuff, or is it more of a trial and error type thing? My trucks 4x4 of course, body lift, manual trans .etc http://image.carcraft.com/f/featuredvehicles/ccrp_0909_1967_chevrolet_camaro/25349330+w799+h499+cr1+ar0/ccrp_0909_07_z+1967_chevrolet_camaro_z28+traction_bar.jpg
a visual of what I was kind of thinking something very basic and easy to build.....my truck doesn't have a lot of flex nor do I do anything where I flex the suspension out, but I wanna try to have it bind as little as possible as the suspension moves through its range of motion...

·
American Rebel.
13,453 Posts