Dakota Durango Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I have been searching for hours and do not want to create yet another thread on this subject but... I have a 2000 Dakota RC 2WD 5 speed ( my d.d.) and a recently acquired 1999 Durango 5.2 with a blown transmission. I have wanted to do the swap for a few months and I am now ready. My questions are... Can anyone point me in the direction of a known post / thread on a detailed build? Since this is my d.d. I want to knock it out in one weekend. I have the manpower to do it. I have the complete Durango to scavenge from. Is it easier to swap the harness or splice for the 7 / 8 injectors? Will the 1999 ECM work in my 2000? Do I use the 5.2 or 3.9 flywheel? Starter issues? I guess that will do it. I work in the repair business and have replaced engines plenty but never swapped a v6 out for a v8 and don't want to get ahead of myself. Again, didn't mean to post about a much talked about subject but I was getting no where with looking around. Thanks and any info would be greatly appreciated. :deadhorse:.

·
We Are 138
13,200 Posts
Splice in the 2 new injectors.

You're gonna need a 99 Dakota 5.2 5spd computer.

3.9/5.2/5.9 starters are all the same,with 1 catch- The power connector.. 99+ have a pigtail plug in deal, 98 and older just have a flat washer type deal thats held on the starter with a nut.. Not a big obstacle, cut and splice whatever you like.

Flywheel- You'll need one for a 99 Dakota 5.2 5spd.

Front motor accessories are the same, waterpumps, alternators,etc etc etc even the radiators are the same. Fan shrouds are different though,you can trim yours down with a Dremel or something,or just find one off a 97-99 5.2/5.9 and the actual clutch fan is different too.

·
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
4,364 Posts
Your better off swapping to a 4.7. The 4.7 was made to replace the 5.2
The amount of work that swap would take you may as well drop in a 5.7 Hemi. 318's outlast 4.7's in mileage anyway.

·