Dakota Durango Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I'm new to the Durango. I have never owned a dodge before, I used to stick with ford and am used to the solid front axel. Now my question is do I need to upgrade my front axel shafts if I want to offroad? My buddy is a jeep guy and says the Durango has a weak front end and if get heavy on the throttle I'm going to break something. I'm only running 33s with no lift or mods. He says I can't go above that tire size without a solid axel swap or I'm going to break something.

Im smart and I know what I can go through and what I can't. I won't try to make something if I know for sure I can't just to look cool. But I do want to show them jeep guys what a stock Durango can do. So any help would be great.

·
7,610 Posts
33s? didnt think u could fit those w/o rubbin, anyways your buddy is some right, the front axles are weak -axle case- when you get a lil extreme but far as playin in a lil mud then have fun, also the upper balljoints or bad about goin out

·
Registered
653 Posts
Yepp, heavy off roading fun can easily make your front end a nightmare. Mainly the diff, not often are any other components faulty under the mess.

If your smart and know the D's limits you can get by most terrain, that meaning if you take it slow and easy. If you dig into the pedal while spinning and catch traction while the weight is shifted in the right way listen to the carnage :mullet: It's either 33" taking it easy or SAS, no other options.
On the trails stock for stock ive faired well over gjc's, but in the end they have more parts support than we do. 20x easier making a rig trailworthy and if they lock the front end they've won already. D keeping up with a wrangler, maybe in a wide open airport runway type of trail.

If you wheel alot, drop a axle underneath. If you dont, t/s, maybe even body it and take it easy.