Dakota Durango Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
2002 Dodge Dakota SXT 3.9L 4X4
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all. Long time lurker here finally coming out of the shadows to ask a few questions. I have a new-to-me 2002 Dakota Club Cab 4X4 with a 3.9L and a 5 speed stick in it.

I have plenty of Dakota experience with the 5.2, 5.9, 4.7 but this is my first 3.9 and my main concern is fuel economy and highway hill climbing performance. This thing is averaging 15-16mpg on the highway at 65MPH and I usually have to downshift to go up most hills otherwise it progressively loses speed, some hills I have to drop it to 3rd and rev it right out.

I know these six pots are known to be slugs but it just feels like its really held back for some reason. Wheel bearings checked out okay but it has 3.55 gearing and slightly oversize (and very camber worn due to bad ball joints - both to be rectified soon here) tires on it that I doubt are helping. The muffler is also very blown out and maybe that's why the engine sounds like its working so hard up hills

Realistically it is probably normal to need to downshift the truck for hills to get it to 2200RPM or more as it cruises at highway in 5th at like 1600RPM and this gasser probably makes no torque there at all, I am used to my 1st gen Cummins where I can just add a little consumption pedal in 5th at that rpm and it lights up and goes, just wanted to confirm with some other drivers with the same setup that this is normal and I shouldn't be chasing down problems that aren't there ( i.e. plugged cats) I've heard the 3.55 gearing is sub-optimal for the 3.9L, especially in the manual trucks.

I am hoping that proper tires and a tune up kit are going to bring mileage back up to the 18-20mpg I was expecting. Otherwise the engine runs flawlessly and doesn't leak/burn a drop of oil and seems overall to be really healthy for the mileage on it.

· Registered