P1492 Battery temp sensor? - Dodge Durango Forum and Dodge Dakota Forums
FAQ's, Tips & Tricks Helpful technical information.

 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
post #1 of Old 10-16-2007, 09:05 PM Thread Starter
Vinny
Registered User
 
Vinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
P1492 Battery temp sensor?

This is the code my truck is flashing, which is the battery temp sensor. I've never heard of one. Where is it located?

Vinny
Vinny is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of Old 10-16-2007, 09:25 PM
Boomin5POINT9
I bleev u have mai staplr
 
Boomin5POINT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Skowhegan, Maine
Posts: 3,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Send a message via AIM to Boomin5POINT9 Send a message via Yahoo to Boomin5POINT9
It's located on the bottom of the battery tray. Looks like a thin plastic disc at the bottom when you take your battery out, with a plug in the bottom of it (under the tray)

- Troy

1999 RC Dakota R/T:
Kenne Bell Supercharger, Alchohol Injection, SCT Pro-Racer Package, 50# CPR Injectors, Walbro 255LPH Fuel Pump, Ported 50mm TB, JBA Shorty Headers, Flowmaster 40, 3-Inch Exhaust, MOPAR M1 Manifold, Street Scene Mirrors, 20" Chrome XS Rims, GY HP Ultra Plus's, DynoJet Wideband, MSD 6A, MSD Coil, Hotchkis TVS, Bilstein shocks, Cervini's S.S. Ram-Air Hood, Sir-Michael's Roll Pan, Stillen Front Bumper, Diamond Headlights/Corners, Custom Leather Door Panel pads, 180 Degree T-Stat, Taylor Wires, Optima Yellow Top, and More.
Boomin5POINT9 is offline  
post #3 of Old 10-16-2007, 11:39 PM Thread Starter
Vinny
Registered User
 
Vinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
How does it work? It can't be by battery temp, I wouldn't think, because I tried to clear the code yesterday when the truck was cold from sitting. Very strange!

Vinny
Vinny is offline  
post #4 of Old 10-17-2007, 12:12 PM
mlobitz
Registered User
 
mlobitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 2,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
It tells the PCM the battery temp and adjusts the voltage regulator accordingly, i believe. Sensor is just bad, replace it.
mlobitz is offline  
post #5 of Old 10-17-2007, 01:25 PM
Boomin5POINT9
I bleev u have mai staplr
 
Boomin5POINT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Skowhegan, Maine
Posts: 3,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Send a message via AIM to Boomin5POINT9 Send a message via Yahoo to Boomin5POINT9
It's a thermister. It's basically a resistor that changes with temperature and sends that reading to the PCM. It does go by temperature, but yours is probably bad.

- Troy

1999 RC Dakota R/T:
Kenne Bell Supercharger, Alchohol Injection, SCT Pro-Racer Package, 50# CPR Injectors, Walbro 255LPH Fuel Pump, Ported 50mm TB, JBA Shorty Headers, Flowmaster 40, 3-Inch Exhaust, MOPAR M1 Manifold, Street Scene Mirrors, 20" Chrome XS Rims, GY HP Ultra Plus's, DynoJet Wideband, MSD 6A, MSD Coil, Hotchkis TVS, Bilstein shocks, Cervini's S.S. Ram-Air Hood, Sir-Michael's Roll Pan, Stillen Front Bumper, Diamond Headlights/Corners, Custom Leather Door Panel pads, 180 Degree T-Stat, Taylor Wires, Optima Yellow Top, and More.
Boomin5POINT9 is offline  
post #6 of Old 10-17-2007, 02:06 PM Thread Starter
Vinny
Registered User
 
Vinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Thanks guys!
Vinny is offline  
post #7 of Old 10-17-2007, 05:27 PM
Dj Wolf
Jay

 
Dj Wolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NOVA
Posts: 11,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
is there anyway to bypass this sensor?


The build has begun....95% complete
Dj Wolf is offline  
post #8 of Old 10-17-2007, 07:03 PM
mlobitz
Registered User
 
mlobitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 2,654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
probably, since it's a resistor. why would you want to do that?
mlobitz is offline  
post #9 of Old 10-17-2007, 07:09 PM
Dj Wolf
Jay

 
Dj Wolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NOVA
Posts: 11,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlobitz View Post
probably, since it's a resistor. why would you want to do that?
i relocated my battery, and have two other codes for other stuff also on. i just want to start getting rid of these codes......


The build has begun....95% complete
Dj Wolf is offline  
post #10 of Old 10-21-2007, 12:29 AM Thread Starter
Vinny
Registered User
 
Vinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I was told a couple of days ago that you could cut the wires and tie them together. Then clear the code. I chose not to but I will wait to fix it a little while. The sensor is $44 at Autoxxxx.
Vinny is offline  
post #11 of Old 11-14-2007, 10:14 AM
caulk04
.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.


 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: nowhereville
Posts: 10,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
     
Hell, just go to a scrap yard...gotta be a bunch of Mopars that use the same sensor.

The whole point of it is to tell the PCM what temp the battery is so it can tailor the charging system to that to avoid damage and provide peak charging.
caulk04 is offline  
post #12 of Old 11-14-2007, 07:30 PM
AKpirate
Registered User
 
AKpirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Alaska
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I was installing a remote trans filter below the battery tray and lost/ threw away that sensor which set off the check engine light (very annoying ) I went to a junk yard found one and offer them three bucks...which was the exact amount of dollar bills in my pocket at the time problem solved

car domain site

5 door whore #11
AKpirate is offline  
post #13 of Old 11-14-2007, 09:14 PM
Y2KOTA
Old Timer
 
Y2KOTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bradenton, Fl
Posts: 1,270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by scentralpirate View Post
I was installing a remote trans filter below the battery tray and lost/ threw away that sensor which set off the check engine light (very annoying ) I went to a junk yard found one and offer them three bucks...which was the exact amount of dollar bills in my pocket at the time problem solved
You make it sound so dam easy


Donald Mallett, Bradenton, FL
Bronze Executive Director
Independent Associate
(817) 875-9812

All mods listed >>>Home of the Y2KOTA
Y2KOTA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Durango Forum and Dodge Dakota Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Linear Mode Linear Mode
Rate This Thread:


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome