How long for computer reset? - Dodge Durango Forum and Dodge Dakota Forums
Troubleshooter's Forum A place to ask technical questions.

 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
post #1 of Old 02-01-2006, 03:00 AM Thread Starter
BlackDak
Registered User
 
BlackDak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 5,697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
How long for computer reset?

I had some emission work done and they had to disconnect the battery to reset the computer. They said I need to come back in a few days to make sure the computers all reset.

Is there a specific procedure for resetting everything or what?
BlackDak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of Old 02-01-2006, 03:06 AM
moparsz
1400+ 1/4 mile passes


 
moparsz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 27,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
 
Garage
Send a message via AIM to moparsz
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackDak
I had some emission work done and they had to disconnect the battery to reset the computer. They said I need to come back in a few days to make sure the computers all reset.

Is there a specific procedure for resetting everything or what?
It should reset it as soon as you disconnect the battery


Best pass 2002 Dodge Dakota : 13.302 @ 103.39 MPH and 1/8 E.T. 8.569 @ 82.87mph

Drag Track http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LCNQhtcXkKE
New Years Eve Burnout http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oVAQ4...lay&playnext=1

www.AIRRAM.com Discounted Performance Parts with FREE SHIPPING!
moparsz is offline  
post #3 of Old 02-01-2006, 03:11 AM
DAKSPORT1PA
T.J.



 
DAKSPORT1PA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Your moms box
Posts: 78,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
         
Send a message via AIM to DAKSPORT1PA
The longest I've ever waited before hooking it back up was like 15 sec. when reseting the computer and it worked right away.

"I reject your reality and substitute my own!"

DAKSPORT1PA is offline  
post #4 of Old 02-01-2006, 03:12 AM
2k2dakotaman
Ridin Dirty
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hammond,Louisiana
Posts: 13,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Send a message via AIM to 2k2dakotaman
same here bro bout 20 min longest i waited sounds like something fishy


2002 Dakota R/T, Red, 255/50/R17 chrome R/T wheels,B&G Flashed ,Flowmaster,Round Element Filter, M1 Intake, F&B TB52mm, SS Grill Inserts,AutoLite Plugs,Msd Wires,2 Peice diamond headlighs and corners....more to come


2k2dakotaman is offline  
post #5 of Old 02-01-2006, 04:19 AM Thread Starter
BlackDak
Registered User
 
BlackDak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 5,697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Sorry guys, I may have worded it wrong.

I disconnected my battery the other day to work on something. I reconnected it and was at the emissions testing station in about 20 minutes. They immediately asked if my truck had been serviced recently. Apparantly the different computers/sensors/whatever need some driving time before tey are reporting correctly. Thier computer was not getting any readings from the computers on the truck.

I drove for a couple days and went back. The scanner went fine, but it failed anyway.

After it was worked on at the shop today, they told me again that I would need to drive it a couple days and come back so that they can hook up the scanner and make sure all the computers are reading correctly before I go back to the testing station.

I am wondering how long I really have to wait (tabs go bad tonight, so driving around for a couple days will be risky) or if there is a certain procedure that the computer needs to see in order to reset or whatever.
BlackDak is offline  
post #6 of Old 02-01-2006, 04:22 AM
Badws6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: So Cal
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
On my Trans AM after the bat died they told me to drive at least 80 miles

But that is in CA

2001 Durango 5.9 RT
1997 Trans AM WS6 sold
2000 Grand Prix GTP sold
2008 RAM Big Horn 4.7
pictures here: Badws6
Badws6 is offline  
post #7 of Old 02-01-2006, 05:25 AM
dave2003
Site Supporter

 
dave2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I've always reset the computer by disconnecting the neg battery cable and turning my ignition to the ON position and holding it for 10 seconds and then hooking the battery back up. I've never heard of it takin longer.

2000 Dakota CC 3.9L 5SPD Man
180* T-Stat, 360 Power Shot IntakeZ, bwdakrt modded V6 TB, Superchips 3715, HS 1.7 RR's , Black Magic 180 Extreme Fan (Clutch fan kicked to the curb!), Taylor 8mm Wires, NGK FR5-1's, EBC Sport Rotors & Hawk Pads, Infinity Reference 6020CS & 6022SI, AMI Locking Fuel Door, Diamond Clear Corners with O*NEX 6000K HID's.
dave2003 is offline  
post #8 of Old 02-01-2006, 06:46 AM Thread Starter
BlackDak
Registered User
 
BlackDak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 5,697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
The thing is, when you erase the memory from the computer, it has to go through a relearn process. I guess it takes a little while for the computers to relearn all the settings and readings and whatnot. It takes some driving around for them to figure out where the settings need to be.

Until then, I guess a scanner will not receive a signal from the computer, which is what the emissions testing place found the first time I went through.
BlackDak is offline  
post #9 of Old 02-01-2006, 11:26 AM
Neil
Registered User
 
Neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Marlton, NJ
Posts: 2,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
When you reset the computer, there are certain mappings that are relearned after driving. I belive it may be around 75 miles.

Many areas during emissions testing plug into the OBDII port. I have read posts on several forums where people were turned away and told to come back in 100 miles. The computer reads that it had been reset by a flag or how many miles since reset. Im not shure what it indicates by they can tell.

99 Durango 5.9, FT 4x4, IP stage III w/ K&N air hat, M1, SCT, Fastman TB, 1.7 RR, JBA headers, Borla cat back, Martin Saine valve body, Hotchkis swaybars, Blistein shocks, lowered 2" Black Rhino Kenya wheels, 246. 7 RWHP, 319 TQ
Neil is offline  
post #10 of Old 02-01-2006, 06:13 PM Thread Starter
BlackDak
Registered User
 
BlackDak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 5,697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
That is pretty much what I needed to know.
BlackDak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Durango Forum and Dodge Dakota Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Linear Mode Linear Mode
Rate This Thread:


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome