"no bus" in odometer screen? - Dodge Durango Forum
5.2L/5.9L/6.7L Engines Questions regarding the 5.2L/5.9L/6.7L V8 Engines

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
post #1 of 21 Old 10-24-2010, 12:35 AM Thread Starter
02blackrt
Registered User
 
02blackrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Vehicle: 2002 Dodge Durango R/T
Modifications: Borla Exhaust, AFE Stage II intake, 5% tint all the way around and brow on winsheild, clear headlights, clear corners, black taillight covers, Police siren and PA system
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
"no bus" in odometer screen?

So the 02 durango r/t has been dying constantly. no warnings just dies while driving. It will no longer start, no guages move, all lights stay on but the odometer screen reads "no bus" and the truck wont start... any ideas? please help
02blackrt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 10-24-2010, 01:37 AM
suprchgd99rango
Pre-Teen Giggle Brigade
 
suprchgd99rango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Venice Florida
Vehicle: 99 dakota r/t
Posts: 6,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
   
Send a message via AIM to suprchgd99rango
need a pcm.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hustlajustin View Post
Dont put the Pussy on a Pedestal! J/K it is the best, now that I think about it, its like a snuggie for my penis


suprchgd99rango is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 10-24-2010, 02:19 AM
frmboybuck
Registered User
 
frmboybuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Iowa
Vehicle: 2000 Dakota Quad cab 4x4
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Unplug your crankshaft position sensor and see if your no bus issue goes away....PCM is your last result.

frmboybuck is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 10-24-2010, 02:19 AM
Little Blue Guy
#19 ƃop ǝnןq ǝןʇʇıן

 
Little Blue Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Not Sure
Vehicle: '94 Dodge Dakota Sport
Modifications: Installed every option
Posts: 13,101
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
           
I agree..but there is more than 1 PCM...we got a 04 Sebring here did the same thing...turns out it needs the "body" PCM..not the engine one

All our cars are here --> http://www.hubgarage.com/mygarage/A383Wing

Little Blue Guy is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 10-24-2010, 02:21 AM
Little Blue Guy
#19 ƃop ǝnןq ǝןʇʇıן

 
Little Blue Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Not Sure
Vehicle: '94 Dodge Dakota Sport
Modifications: Installed every option
Posts: 13,101
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by frmboybuck View Post
Unplug your crankshaft position sensor and see if your no bus issue goes away....PCM is your last result.
crank sensor has nothing to do with a "no bus" issue..."no bus" means one of the PCM's is not communicating with the other ones...sensors have nothing to do with it

All our cars are here --> http://www.hubgarage.com/mygarage/A383Wing

Little Blue Guy is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 10-24-2010, 02:59 AM
frmboybuck
Registered User
 
frmboybuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Iowa
Vehicle: 2000 Dakota Quad cab 4x4
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Little Blue Guy View Post
crank sensor has nothing to do with a "no bus" issue..."no bus" means one of the PCM's is not communicating with the other ones...sensors have nothing to do with it
Really?? I had the same exact issue and it was the Crank Position sensor. Ill bet money his problem is NOT the PCM but one of the 5 volt sensors that has lost communication. Google is your friend

frmboybuck is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 10-24-2010, 03:31 AM
Little Blue Guy
#19 ƃop ǝnןq ǝןʇʇıן

 
Little Blue Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Not Sure
Vehicle: '94 Dodge Dakota Sport
Modifications: Installed every option
Posts: 13,101
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
           
go back and re-read his first post...he says gauges don't move...crank sensor has nothing to do with gauges...the body PCM controls the gauges...but I guess yer right...if google says its the crank sensor...then it must be true

All our cars are here --> http://www.hubgarage.com/mygarage/A383Wing

Little Blue Guy is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 10-24-2010, 03:52 AM
frmboybuck
Registered User
 
frmboybuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Iowa
Vehicle: 2000 Dakota Quad cab 4x4
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I dont need to go back and read it.....I read it the first time. had the EXACT same problem. No gauges, "no bus" displayed in my od. I unplugged the CPS and got my gauges back. Replaced the CPS, gauges came back and truck runs like new. Did you read any of the google articles or are you just being a fucktard? The PCM looses contact with one of the 5volt sensors and "no bus" is displayed.

frmboybuck is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 10-24-2010, 03:58 AM
frmboybuck
Registered User
 
frmboybuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Iowa
Vehicle: 2000 Dakota Quad cab 4x4
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
If you are not too busy being a dick, maybe you can read this post
http://www.dakota-durango.com/forum/...t=1tech&page=3
Bad PCM there too huh?

frmboybuck is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 10-24-2010, 04:00 AM
frmboybuck
Registered User
 
frmboybuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Iowa
Vehicle: 2000 Dakota Quad cab 4x4
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
frmboybuck is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 10-24-2010, 05:56 AM
Little Blue Guy
#19 ƃop ǝnןq ǝןʇʇıן

 
Little Blue Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Not Sure
Vehicle: '94 Dodge Dakota Sport
Modifications: Installed every option
Posts: 13,101
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by frmboybuck View Post
Did you read any of the google articles or are you just being a fucktard?
Quote:
Originally Posted by frmboybuck View Post
If you are not too busy being a dick, maybe you can read......
wow....the name calling was uncalled for, farm boy, fight club has been deleted...you will need to refrain from that sort of posting in the site anymore, or reported post will ensue

...I guess I will bow to your superior searching intellect and just use Google from now on for all diagnostic troubles in all cars..or I can just ask you for help on any car troubles from here forward

good luck getting anywhere in life with an attitude like that

All our cars are here --> http://www.hubgarage.com/mygarage/A383Wing

Little Blue Guy is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 10-24-2010, 06:05 AM
frmboybuck
Registered User
 
frmboybuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Iowa
Vehicle: 2000 Dakota Quad cab 4x4
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Report me....Quit being a sarcastic dick about things. Google has nothing to do with it. I was using it as an example, mine was from experience with the same problem. Why throw a $250 PCM at it when you can diagnose the problem first? Makes no sense to me.

frmboybuck is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 10-25-2010, 01:48 AM
xbxjunkie
the DOC can SUCK IT !!!
 
xbxjunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NJ
Vehicle: 2012 Durango R/T
Posts: 2,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
   
no bus means no communication from the pcm
xbxjunkie is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 10-25-2010, 06:33 PM
Neil
Registered User
 
Neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Marlton, NJ
Vehicle: 99 Durango
Posts: 2,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I've been on a number of Dodge/Durango/Dakota web forums for 10+ years and have seen this problem many times. Aside from a couple of 98's and 00's, they're all mostly 99's. It's not an uncommon problem. I sold my factory 99 PCM to someone having the same problem as I'm running a Mopar Performance PCM. I never heard from him so it must have fixed it.

The Factory Service Manual indicates ground connections may be the cause and to check them but the usual fix has been to replace the PCM. A few have tried the PCM connectors but I'm not sure how many have found the connectors to be the problem.

Here are links to posts on several forums

www.durangoclub.com/forum/vie…ight=bus#88940

www.ecudirect.com,

www.dodgetalk.com/forums/show…ghlight=no+bus

www.durangoclub.com/forum/vie…ht=bus&start=0

www.dakota-durango.com/forum/…&highlight=bus

www.dakota-durango.com/forum/…&highlight=bus

www.durangoclub.com/forum/vie…ight=bus#35726

www.dodgetalk.com/forums/show…ghlight=no+bus

www.dodgetalk.com/forums/show…ghlight=no+bus

www.dodgetalk.com/forums/show…ghlight=no+bus

www.dodgetalk.com/forums/show…ghlight=no+bus

www.dodgetalk.com/forums/show…ghlight=no+bus

www.dodgetalk.com/forums/show…ghlight=no+bus

www.dodgetalk.com/forums/show…ghlight=no+bus

www.dodgetalk.com/forums/show…ghlight=no+bus

www.dodgetalk.com/forums/show…ghlight=no+bus

www.dodgetalk.com/forums/show…ghlight=no+bus

www.durangoclub.com/forum/vie…ight=bus#13790

A fix that wasn't the PCM

www.durangoclub.com/forum/vie…ight=bus#36898

The first link shows places to get a used PCM. I haven't used any of them or really know about them other than copying from posts where people who said they used them. When buying a used PCM, it has to be from the same year, engine, 4x2/4x4. If you don't have the factory alarm, which you said is the case, the PCM can't have been used in a vehicle that has the factory alarm option. The PCM part numbers are the same regardless if whether it's been used in a alarm/non-alarm vehicle and, if it's been used in an alarm enabled vehicle, something gets set in the PCM and it won't work in a non-alarm vehicle! It'll start for a second but then shut off. I've had first experience with this and it's also a known situation on the forum. The second post is from someone who had the no bus issue and got replacement PCMs for his non-alarm vehicle. Two of them didn't work because they had the security feature enabled.

So, if you do seek a used PCM, be VERY specific about whether the donor vehicle had the factory alarm/security option. Also don't "borrow" a PCM from a non security vehicle. It'll work in yours but, after a number of starts, it won't work in theirs again!

The other thing is the VIN. The PCM has to have a VIN (any VIN) entered in it. If there's no VIN, the ABS/Brake lights will come on. The vehicle will run fine, but the VIN will need to be entered to turn off the lights. It's a simple task with a DRB scan tool by the dealer and only takes a couple minutes but a dealer will charge 0.5-1 hr labor. Some of the remanufacturers offer to enter your VIN. I don't know that they really do it as, If it's used, it more than likely already has a VIN and, as far as I know, it can't be changed… I know the dealer can't do it. The VIN doesn't have to match your vehicle as it won't affect how it works and no one checks the VIN for anything.

The last thing is there's "supposed" to be a mileage setting in the PCM. I haven't found for sure if there really is any mileage indication stored in it but, regardless, it's not used for anything. The odometer mileage is stored in the gauge cluster.

99 Durango 5.9, FT 4x4, IP stage III w/ K&N air hat, M1, SCT, Fastman TB, 1.7 RR, JBA headers, Borla cat back, Martin Saine valve body, Hotchkis swaybars, Blistein shocks, lowered 2" Black Rhino Kenya wheels, 246. 7 RWHP, 319 TQ
Neil is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 10-25-2010, 06:54 PM
Shimrra
110 HP, 11.1 MPG. FML
 
Shimrra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Middlebury, CT
Vehicle: '93, 3.9L, '92 3.5L
Modifications: V8 TB, e-fan.
Posts: 4,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Send a message via AIM to Shimrra Send a message via MSN to Shimrra Send a message via Yahoo to Shimrra Send a message via Skype™ to Shimrra
the mileage is used to compare vs the odo when you sell it or for insurance.

it is best to have it fixed if you swap the pcm, but you dont NEED to

'93 Dak, V6 Auto RWD;
V8TB, E-fan, and a bad smoking habit.

IN THE WORKS:
'92 318 swap, coming closer to completion every dime I can squirrel
Shimrra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Durango Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Linear Mode Linear Mode
Rate This Thread:


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome