P0505, cant figure it out - Dodge Durango Forum and Dodge Dakota Forums
Troubleshooter's Forum A place to ask technical questions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
post #1 of Old 10-14-2010, 09:43 PM Thread Starter
4wdurango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sierra Vista AZ
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
P0505, cant figure it out

I recently purchased a 2000 Durango 5.9 4x4, I am super happy with it just wish I could figure out how to fix the P0505 code. I have searched a bunch, online and on this forum and I have not found a solid conclusion as to what the fix is. I purchased a new IAC, set it to spec and put it in, reset the pcm to get rid of the engine light and it came right back. I cleaned everything, cleaned the old one tried both of them reset the engine light and it still comes right back on. Any help or advice would be very much appreciated. Thanks
4wdurango is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of Old 10-14-2010, 10:01 PM
01dakotaqc
Registered User

 
01dakotaqc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cooper City FL
Posts: 3,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
here is the code from this website. it may have something to do with your speed sensor or wiring

P0505 (M) Idle Air Control Motor Circuits A vehicle speed signal was not detected

2001 dakota r/t R.I.P
2002 dakota r/t new truck
mods: mopar headers, 3" spintech exhaust, k&n intake, m-1 2bbl, 52mm tb, asp underdrive crank pulley, viper fan, shift kit, HS 1.7 rr's, Dynojet Wideband, SCT, 2/3 drop
01dakotaqc is offline  
post #3 of Old 10-15-2010, 01:47 AM
l1tech
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
How did you set the IAC to spec???

l1tech is offline  
post #4 of Old 10-15-2010, 03:06 PM Thread Starter
4wdurango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sierra Vista AZ
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by l1tech View Post
How did you set the IAC to spec???
The directions said to adjust it so the end copper colored thing was 1 and 1/8inch from the mounting surface.... I dont know though, the durango idled pretty high at that setting, and the one I took out sat out much farther, but it would still throw the code....
4wdurango is offline  
post #5 of Old 10-16-2010, 01:31 PM
l1tech
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
How did you adjust it, there is no way too and it is something that is not meant to be adjusted. Get yourself a new IAC and you will probably be ok but when you take this one out of the box do not do anything to it, just bolt it in the pcm adjusts it.

l1tech is offline  
post #6 of Old 10-17-2010, 05:40 AM Thread Starter
4wdurango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sierra Vista AZ
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by l1tech View Post
How did you adjust it, there is no way too and it is something that is not meant to be adjusted. Get yourself a new IAC and you will probably be ok but when you take this one out of the box do not do anything to it, just bolt it in the pcm adjusts it.
Weird, I tried that first and the durango was idling around 1600 rpms...? I drove it for a while and reset the engine light with it idling that high and the idle never went down and the engine light came back... I took the IAC back to Checker and looked at another one that had directions that said to adjust it to 1 and 1/8 inch so I tried that, still idled a little high.... I will pick up another one from somewhere else and see how it goes...
4wdurango is offline  
post #7 of Old 10-17-2010, 01:22 PM
l1tech
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Well if you have had 2 different IACs in there and it won't idle correctly you need to look elsewhere for your problem. Barring any other issues tha may be causing your high idle like a vacuum leak you need to start checking the wiring from the IAC back to the pcm adn see if you have any issues there

l1tech is offline  
post #8 of Old 10-17-2010, 10:40 PM Thread Starter
4wdurango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sierra Vista AZ
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by l1tech View Post
Well if you have had 2 different IACs in there and it won't idle correctly you need to look elsewhere for your problem. Barring any other issues tha may be causing your high idle like a vacuum leak you need to start checking the wiring from the IAC back to the pcm adn see if you have any issues there
Thanks for all the responses... With the stock IAC(meaning the one that was in there when I bought it) the durango idles fine and exhibits no problems at all except the engine light. With the replacement IAC the durango idled high and still had the engine light. I wonder if it was defective or something?? should I get an IAC from the dodge dealer? I will examine the wiring and post my findings.
4wdurango is offline  
post #9 of Old 10-17-2010, 11:21 PM
l1tech
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
It's possible the IAC you bought was defective. You could try getting another one but I have a funny feeling that you are going to have the same issue.

l1tech is offline  
post #10 of Old 10-20-2010, 05:49 AM
mprete4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: lombard,il
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
check the connection at the pcm. the connector has a corrosion problem. let me know if this works. if you find corrosion. try your best to clean all the pins and then put diolectic grease (like you use on spark plugs) to keep it from corroding again.
mprete4 is offline  
post #11 of Old 01-02-2011, 05:13 AM Thread Starter
4wdurango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sierra Vista AZ
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Its been a while since I last posted, but I just wanted to update the thread. I went out to start the Durango the other day and the battery was dead, or so I thought. I didnt get a chance to check it out until today and I found the ground connector for the battery was loose, and had a bunch of old dioelectric grease or something on it... I cleaned the crap out of it, and while I was at it I undid all the grounds I could find in the engine bay and cleaned them all with a metal brush. The outcome.... no engine light, the code is gone, so apparently it had something to do with a bad ground....
4wdurango is offline  
post #12 of Old 01-02-2011, 06:24 AM
99Dakota
Diesel Mechanic
 
99Dakota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Whitehall, NY
Posts: 898
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
you prob. didnt fix it. all you did was clear the pcm. the check engine light will be back.

did you clear the codes after u replaced the IAC?

99 Dakota Sport 4x4 3.9L V6
360 Air Intakez, V8 TB, MSD Coil, Magnaflow Y-Pipe back, Superchips 3715, Factory 3.92's, Firestone Destination A/T's, HID 5000K BI, HID 6000k Fogs, Monroe Sensatrac Rear Loadlevelers
99Dakota is offline  
post #13 of Old 01-02-2011, 06:26 PM Thread Starter
4wdurango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sierra Vista AZ
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99Dakota View Post
you prob. didnt fix it. all you did was clear the pcm. the check engine light will be back.

did you clear the codes after u replaced the IAC?
I have reset the PCM many times, and the light comes back immediately. when I started it yesterday I knew I had cleared the PCM, but I was expecting the light to come on right after I started it and it didnt. Yesterday I drove for about 15 min and no engine light, started it up this morning and let it run for a few minutes and no engine light. Its weird, but it seems like it worked. The new IAC I put in there was making the durango run worse than the original, so currently the original is in there, not the new one.
4wdurango is offline  
post #14 of Old 01-06-2011, 02:13 PM Thread Starter
4wdurango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sierra Vista AZ
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99Dakota View Post
you prob. didnt fix it. all you did was clear the pcm. the check engine light will be back.

did you clear the codes after u replaced the IAC?
you were right, its back, just took it longer this time... when I was trying to fix it and I would reset the PCM it would be back on right when i started the durango... very strange......the search continues.
4wdurango is offline  
post #15 of Old 02-04-2011, 02:59 PM Thread Starter
4wdurango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sierra Vista AZ
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Thought I would add something that is strange to me... we have had extremely cold weather lately(for us down here in southern arizona). When the temps outside are freezing and below the engine light turns off... strange...
4wdurango is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Durango Forum and Dodge Dakota Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Linear Mode Linear Mode
Rate This Thread:


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome