"No Bus"- Flashing in odo! - Dodge Durango Forum
Computer Control Parts Info Links : PCM Modules

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 10 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
post #1 of 21 Old 07-27-2010, 02:45 PM Thread Starter
Dakota31
Bewbies!
 
Dakota31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reading, Pa
Vehicle: '99 Dakota SLT
Modifications: K&N 14" Filter/Ported TB
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Send a message via AIM to Dakota31 Send a message via Yahoo to Dakota31
"No Bus"- Flashing in odo!

Not sure exactly what this could mean, but I'm hoping not the obvious.

So I come out of the bar one night with a few buddies and go to start the truck. Nothing, just clicks. Ok so I jumped it and made it the 15miles home. Try and start it the next morning after being on the trickle charger all night and nothing, just a click still. Also, now it won't even start while trying to jump it. The next day I get a new battery and she turns over fine, but does not fire up. After turning over a few times, I leave the key in the ON position and "No Bus" shows up in the odo window. Uh Oh. Hook up the superchips and it says my vin number doesn't match now. Ok, so I hook up the actual scantool and it says it doesn't even recognize a computer is there. My thoughts being somehow the computer fried? Is this a common occurence? Any help is appreciated!

-Troy

1999 Dak SLT v8 K&N 14" Intake/Ported TB:
1998 I.Blue Neon R/T- SRT'd 2.4/GT35R For Starters..
Dakota31 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 07-27-2010, 02:47 PM
MadMike05
Registered User
 
MadMike05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New York
Vehicle: 03 Durango SXT
Posts: 3,900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
this happened when my superchips couldnt upload the file once. I uninstalled superchips and re-installed...

see if you can reprogram the stock tune in somehow.

MadMike05 is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 07-27-2010, 02:58 PM Thread Starter
Dakota31
Bewbies!
 
Dakota31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reading, Pa
Vehicle: '99 Dakota SLT
Modifications: K&N 14" Filter/Ported TB
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Send a message via AIM to Dakota31 Send a message via Yahoo to Dakota31
Nope, no dice. I can't even get it to recognize a VIN. After I put the key to the ON position, it reads "No VIN or Improper Application"

-Troy

1999 Dak SLT v8 K&N 14" Intake/Ported TB:
1998 I.Blue Neon R/T- SRT'd 2.4/GT35R For Starters..
Dakota31 is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 07-27-2010, 03:03 PM
bwdakrt
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Quoted: Post(s)
I would say your PCM is fried and you have also lost your SC tune because the tuner is now vin locked. You'll have to send it to SC for them to unlock and will cost you about $100.
post #5 of 21 Old 07-27-2010, 03:07 PM Thread Starter
Dakota31
Bewbies!
 
Dakota31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reading, Pa
Vehicle: '99 Dakota SLT
Modifications: K&N 14" Filter/Ported TB
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Send a message via AIM to Dakota31 Send a message via Yahoo to Dakota31
bah, i just find it wierd that the comp would just go like that! Especially after a simple battery replacement. Anyone got a PCM for a 99 5.2 auto?

-Troy

1999 Dak SLT v8 K&N 14" Intake/Ported TB:
1998 I.Blue Neon R/T- SRT'd 2.4/GT35R For Starters..
Dakota31 is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 07-27-2010, 03:40 PM
MadMike05
Registered User
 
MadMike05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New York
Vehicle: 03 Durango SXT
Posts: 3,900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
did you do the good ol disconnect the battery and turn the key a few times?

or turn the key to on/off back and forth 10 times?

MadMike05 is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 07-27-2010, 03:50 PM Thread Starter
Dakota31
Bewbies!
 
Dakota31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reading, Pa
Vehicle: '99 Dakota SLT
Modifications: K&N 14" Filter/Ported TB
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Send a message via AIM to Dakota31 Send a message via Yahoo to Dakota31
not entirely sure why that would do the trick, but I'll try anything at this point. Aannndd, nope, no worky.

-Troy

1999 Dak SLT v8 K&N 14" Intake/Ported TB:
1998 I.Blue Neon R/T- SRT'd 2.4/GT35R For Starters..
Dakota31 is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 07-27-2010, 04:07 PM
6115
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Under circumstances where your PCM is fried, I've read that super-chips charges you like ~$20 bucks for a reflash; give them a call; this is a different circumstance from someone stealing a VIN locked unit.

Tried switching battery's? my truck wont accept a 90amp charger, or leads disconnected from the old and cable jumped to another good battery, you have to actually physically install the stock cables directly onto the new battery and tighten them so the electronics wont get angry. Make sure your clamps are tight as fuck on the new battery.
6115 is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 07-27-2010, 06:17 PM Thread Starter
Dakota31
Bewbies!
 
Dakota31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reading, Pa
Vehicle: '99 Dakota SLT
Modifications: K&N 14" Filter/Ported TB
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Send a message via AIM to Dakota31 Send a message via Yahoo to Dakota31
thanks for the heads up, i will give them a call as soon as i at least get the truck started again.

And yeah we tried swapping batteries from my buddy's F150 also, thinking(hoping) that had something to do with it, but nothing.


Thank You for everyone's help so far!

-Troy

1999 Dak SLT v8 K&N 14" Intake/Ported TB:
1998 I.Blue Neon R/T- SRT'd 2.4/GT35R For Starters..
Dakota31 is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 07-28-2010, 12:15 AM
caulk04
.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.


 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: nowhereville
Vehicle: none
Posts: 10,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
     
Crank sensor.

Seen it a few times on 4.7 engines...
caulk04 is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 07-28-2010, 12:19 AM Thread Starter
Dakota31
Bewbies!
 
Dakota31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reading, Pa
Vehicle: '99 Dakota SLT
Modifications: K&N 14" Filter/Ported TB
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Send a message via AIM to Dakota31 Send a message via Yahoo to Dakota31
crank sensor would show that code i would imagine, and the scantool would still recognize that there is a computer or valid VIN there to begin with. Plus i'm still rockin the 318.

I'll dive under there and see if the harness is fucked somewhere.

-Troy

1999 Dak SLT v8 K&N 14" Intake/Ported TB:
1998 I.Blue Neon R/T- SRT'd 2.4/GT35R For Starters..
Dakota31 is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 07-28-2010, 09:22 AM
axax
Outlaws noob
 
axax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mexico
Vehicle: 1999 Dodge Dakota
Posts: 951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota31 View Post
bah, i just find it wierd that the comp would just go like that! Especially after a simple battery replacement. Anyone got a PCM for a 99 5.2 auto?
I have the pcm, is it 4x4?

Mostly Old Parts And Rust
axax is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 07-28-2010, 10:14 AM
BigB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Phoenix, Az
Vehicle: 2001 RC R/T
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
2 years back when I was about 2200 miles away from home, I got the no bus flash in the odo of my 01 rt. The truck rain tits and I was just moving it from the street down into my uncles driveway so my polisher would reach the outlet.

1 tow later to the dealership, and apparently there was a recall on a ground strap on the computer. They into the wiring harness and checked everything, and I mean everything,the service manage even complemented me on how cleanly I wired up my amp. They said that it was that strap/wire that came loose and killed the computer.
BigB is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 07-28-2010, 11:47 AM
Neil
Registered User
 
Neil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Marlton, NJ
Vehicle: 99 Durango
Posts: 2,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
It's the PCM and is common with 99's. This is data I put together for a coworker with a 99 Dakota.


Here are links to posts on several forums I've been on a number of Dodge/Durango/Dakota web forums for 10+ years and have seen this problem many times. Aside from a couple 98's and 00's they are all mostly 99's. It is not an uncommon problem. I sold my factory 99 PCM to someone having the same problem. I'm running a Mopar Performance PCM. I never heard from him so it must have fixed it.

The Factory Service Manual indicates ground connections may be the cause and to check connections but the usual fix has been to replace the PCM. A few have tried the PCM connectors but I'm not sure how many have found the connectors to be the problem.

The first link has places to get used PCM. I have not used any of them or really know about them other than copying from posts from people who said they used them. When buying a used PCM, it has to be from the same year, engine, 4x2/4x4. If you do not have the factory alarm, which you said is the case, the PCM cannot have been used in a vehicle that had the factory alarm option. The PCM part numbers are the same regardless if it is used in a alarm/non-alarm vehicle. When it is used in the alarm enabled vehicle, something get set in the PCM and it will no longer work in a non-alarm vehicle. It will start for a second then shut off. I have first had experience with this and it is also a known situation on the forum. The second post is from someone who had the no bus issue and got replacement PCMs for his non-alarm vehicle. Two of them did not work because that had the security feature enabled.

If you do seek a used PCM, be very specific about if the other vehicle had the factory alarm/security option. The other thing is the VIN. The PCM has to have a VIN (any VIN) entered in it. If there is no VIN, the ABS/Brake lights will be on. The vehicle will run fine but the VIN will need to be entered to turn off the lights. It is a simple task with a DRB scan tool by the dealer and only take a couple minutes but a dealer will charge 0.5-1 hr labor. Some of the remanufacturers offer to enter the VIN. I don't know that they really do it. If it us used it more than likely has a VIN. As far as I know it cannot be changed. The dealer cannot do it. The VIN does not have to match your vehicle. It will not affect it working and no one checks the VIN for anything. The other thing is there is supposed to be a mileage setting in the PCM. I have not found for sure if there is really any mileage indication stored in the PCM. Regardless it is not used for anything. The odometer mileage is stored in the gauge cluster.


http://www.durangoclub.com/forum/vie...ight=bus#88940

www.ecudirect.com,



http://www.dodgetalk.com/forums/show...ghlight=no+bus



http://www.durangoclub.com/forum/vie...ht=bus&start=0

http://www.dakota-durango.com/forum/...&highlight=bus

http://www.dakota-durango.com/forum/...&highlight=bus

http://www.durangoclub.com/forum/vie...ight=bus#35726

http://www.dodgetalk.com/forums/show...ghlight=no+bus

http://www.dodgetalk.com/forums/show...ghlight=no+bus

http://www.dodgetalk.com/forums/show...ghlight=no+bus

http://www.dodgetalk.com/forums/show...ghlight=no+bus

http://www.dodgetalk.com/forums/show...ghlight=no+bus

http://www.dodgetalk.com/forums/show...ghlight=no+bus

http://www.dodgetalk.com/forums/show...ghlight=no+bus

http://www.dodgetalk.com/forums/show...ghlight=no+bus

http://www.dodgetalk.com/forums/show...ghlight=no+bus

http://www.dodgetalk.com/forums/show...ghlight=no+bus

http://www.durangoclub.com/forum/vie...ight=bus#13790


Fix that was not the PCM

http://www.durangoclub.com/forum/vie...ight=bus#36898

99 Durango 5.9, FT 4x4, IP stage III w/ K&N air hat, M1, SCT, Fastman TB, 1.7 RR, JBA headers, Borla cat back, Martin Saine valve body, Hotchkis swaybars, Blistein shocks, lowered 2" Black Rhino Kenya wheels, 246. 7 RWHP, 319 TQ
Neil is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 07-28-2010, 10:22 PM
caulk04
.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.


 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: nowhereville
Vehicle: none
Posts: 10,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
     
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota31 View Post
crank sensor would show that code i would imagine, and the scantool would still recognize that there is a computer or valid VIN there to begin with. Plus i'm still rockin the 318.

I'll dive under there and see if the harness is fucked somewhere.
I know you've got the 318, but I'm saying that it's possible anyway. Causes a full failure of the system, seen it before.

Either way, Neil, as usual, seems to have a better idea.
caulk04 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Durango Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Linear Mode Linear Mode
Rate This Thread:


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome